Truthoughts Today

Finding something in nothing…

Conviction

Posted by truthoughts on January 10, 2009

During the last week or so, I have been struggling a bit regarding my time here… not here on this site, I mean here on this planet. See, recently my husband and I have been given an opportunity to work together in a new business. This couldn’t come at a better time, however, it has taken up much of our time.

I have been struggling over this because I see how our time here is so short. So many things are happening around the world that have been prophesied about throughout the Bible. Well, the other day I was searching through Youtube and as many of you know… you may begin searching for one thing and end up watching all sorts of videos that do not even have anything to do with what you originally searched for. Its like a brain that goes off on a tangent. LOL!

So, anyway… back to my point 😉

Somehow I ended up on videos that were about people who have died and came back. These individuals were converted to Christianity because of this. These videos drew me in and intrigued me greatly because they described heaven and hell. Well, I found it interesting in some due to their descriptions. Now, I do not know for sure if all of their stories are accurate… but I listened.

I began to notice how many of them were talking about seeing “Christians” in hell due to unforgiveness and falling back to the world’s activities, etc. To give you a little history, I had recently written a post on my site regarding whether or not those who practice homosexuality will go in the rapture of the church. This post was brought on by a study that Jack Kelley wrote.

After I wrote my article, I received a comment that brought up the question of “Once Saved, Always Saved”. Well, I responded that this was a topic that has been debated throughout the church for a long time and there are many reasons why both sides take up their case for or against this idea. I shared that I would try and write an article covering why some believe this to be in error.

I had a few epiphanies during this study and then I came across the video I have included on this page (site). The video is a 58 minute sermon that is completely accurate and extremely convicting. After watching this video, it just made me want to sit in silence and contemplate… then pray.

See, I remember a time when I had that much conviction and zeal. Over the years I have been worn down by life and my faith has been tested to the max… and I am sure it will continue to be. I have been missing who I once was in Christ and I am sure that He has been missing me. Sure, I wrote articles to share the truth with any who will listen and I always stand my ground when put in a situation to defend my faith… but true conviction and zeal… its been awhile.

This video has cut through all of the glory gumption and gotten right to the heart of the matter, which is exactly where we all need to be in these last days. I am not willing to take the chance that the comfortable laziness I have partaken of in my relationship with Christ might cause me to miss Him all together. So, I challenge you, as I will endeavor to do myself, to reawaken the strongest desires you have had for the Lord and gain the boldness of the warriors we were called to be in the house of the Lord. Time is so short and we may never get a second chance!

If you do not know where to look for the video, I am including it here. I highly encourage you to watch it without distraction… be convicted whole heatedly and make a life altering change for Christ. Please share this video with any you may feel should see it… I am sure there are more who need to see this than you may realize.

8 Responses to “Conviction”

  1. deboriah said

    Going to watch the video when I have more time. Wow you hit the nail on the head. This sounds like me only I am much worse I think. I really need to get back to the things of God. I haven’t even been going to church lately or anything. Please pray for me that the hunger I once had will return and I will get close to Him again like I should be.
    I do have a calling on my life and I really need to get where I belong so I can understand the things He is trying to tell me. Yes ..I hear Him but do not understand like I should. I think it is because I am not where I should be in my heart.

  2. truthoughts said

    Deboriah,

    Thanks for commenting. I appreciate your honesty. Time truly is so short now and we all need to get our spiritual houses in order. I hope that you find other Bible believing Christians to connect with. Regarding going to “church”… so many churches have gone off the deep end with not teaching the Word of God and more teaching a self-help feel good humanistic gospel, just as Jesus said they would (the church of Laodiceans in Rev. 3). Be very careful in looking for a church home. If what they teach does not line up completely with the Word of God, don’t stay there! Rely solely upon the Holy Spirit to teach/guide you in the Word and your walk. Certainly, sharpen those around you in Truth and allow them to sharpen you but stay a berean in the Word and you will never go wrong. I will keep you in my prayers and I look forward to meeting you one day soon. 🙂

    Sincerely In Christ,
    Alison

  3. deboriah said

    My husband and I both watched the video together. Thank you for posting it.

    • truthoughts said

      Deboriah,

      I am so glad that you and your husband could watch it together. 🙂 I appreciate your comments and am very grateful for your friendship both here and elsewhere 😉

      ~Alison

  4. Norman Haugen said

    My Oh My Alison, Never in my life on the Internet have I come across the “Old Time Preaching” as it was when I was growing up in the 40’s in Mid-America. God’s Holy Spirit is still the same; with Fire and Power.

    Thank you for presenting in your Blog space the presentation of the Gospel in such a loving and factual message from an on fire Evangelist as Paul Washer. The message from God is still the same, Loving and Kind and a Warning to be Ready to be with our Savior for ever.

    I just finished reading a short booklet on “Awake, Awake, Awake” written by a Pastor in Paducka(sp), KY because the Churches are sleeping in America. Paul is correct, the Churches are asleep (and this booklet was written about 25 years ago).

    I congratulate you and your husband on your new business venture and if I could keep in touch with you both of you it would be my pleasure.

    In His Service,
    Norman H.

    • truthoughts said

      Norman,

      Wow! Your comment brought tears to my eyes!!! I am so grateful for your comment and that I have been blessed to be used by the Lord, even in the smallest ways. It is such a sad thing, how the Church has become… but we know through the Word that this was to be before the end.

      Bradley and I were talking yesterday about how blessed we feel to be in this generation. Even though, this generation is / will be the most wicked, we get to see the prophecies all coming to fruition. Everyone in the Bible wanted to be here now to see all things coming together and to be apart of the generation who would not die (because of the Rapture). It amazes me how God predestined us for this time, for this work. It is such a wonderful responsibility and honor to be entrusted with the Word of God.

      Norman – thank you again for your wonderful comment! It is always such a great joy to find others in the Truth!!! We both look forward to staying in touch with you. I have a contact link on the side of this blog with our email address. As far as online updates… we seem to be more active on Facebook (there is a link also on the side of this blog).

      Thank you again Norman!!!

      Sincerely In Christ,
      Alison

  5. Dennis said

    25 indictments against Paul Washer:
    1) willfully limiting the subjectmatter of Scripture
    2) willfully presenting his own fabricated version of true christianity
    3) willfully bringing himself under a cloak of godliness
    4) willfully closing the book of Revelation and the Prophets
    5) willfully painting the graves of the prophets for his own selfish ends
    6) willfully presenting himself since 2002 with remarks that show Billy Graham
    to be his brother, although Graham is high in the world and an archdeceiver
    7) comparison with the whole of Scripture and the true old paths of the Reformation
    show him to be a cloud without water
    8) connection in the Netherlands to all false christianity has to offer, even with those
    who publicly say calvinism is a complete error
    9) presenting himself in 80.000 newspapers in the Netherlands smiling as though
    the sins of the churches and the land are no problem to him
    10) proclaiming a message of revival that has never come, thereby telling lies in Gods Name.
    11) accepting in the core of his message two contradicting systems of doctrine
    12) denying the witness of the Holy Spirit in the Reformation against THE antichrist in Rome
    13) denying the blood of hunderthousands christian brothers and sisters against THE antichrist in Rome
    14) going around the USA and the world to gain one proselyte that he makes a clone of himself
    15) being silent about the developements in the outside world, only preaching for his own parish
    16) laying burdens on small people, while leaving big names in bibleschools, synods, and gospelmusic
    untouched and unmentioned
    17) connecting himself to Kirk Cameron, known throughout the world for the message of a future antichrist
    with Left Behind
    18) himself not being able to go to Wallmart for fear of sinning, yet laying on big burdens on everyone else
    19) printing his own material as though it is manna from heaven, yet is only copying a little text everyone
    knows with some questions
    20) saying he serves the God of heaven, yet he himself is an idolater of the ring on his own finger
    21) his minister is Jeff Nobblit who teaches a future antichrist, that gain is godliness, and remains in the
    SBC although a complete apostate body with a statue for Billy Graham
    22) closing the Kingdom of God for the people by keeping silent about the true contents of the witness of the old paths
    23) denying the true witness of the Waldenses, the reformers, the english puritans, the scottish covenanters
    24) denying the true witness of Augustine against Pelagius, Luther against Rome, the Westminster and Dordt Synods
    25) being a facilitator and manipulator replacing the true religion of the King Jesus Christ with a false one of the new world order

    If an American pretends in the USA to love the Gospel and love Christ, yet in the Netherlands joins those who are the enemies of Christ and shows PUBLICLY that he is ONE with them, what would you do when asked what to do and say ? What would you say if someone publicly in his 10 indictment message closes the book of Revelation (KJV Rev 1v3), says that the discussion arminianism calvinism is NOT important, and calls the remnant the church instead of the church the remnant ?

    For an individual christian who knows nothing, is ignorant in so many things, but shows a willing mind, the least is enough to hope the best. But for a teacher who has gone around the world and has made PUBLIC statements and appearances that show he connects himself to the false church, that is an enemy to the true church, and shows deformation from the attainments of the Reformation, there is NO excuse when he is warned extensively with proof and does not repent of his errors.

    The goal of the writer of this protest is to unite the true church of the past that witnessed and lived according to Scripture (the Waldenses, the reformers, the english puritans, the scottish covenanters, and Spurgeon) with the true church of this day and age ! If that means dividing the false church of this day and age from the true church of this day and age and history, than only do I seek division namely between the false and true church of Christ (KJV Rev 11v1-2) ! That is why I talk so much about the issue about THE papal antichrist, arminianism/calvinism, and true worship of God in Spirit and truth because these three issues were important to the true church of old, but NOT to the false church of this day and age ! Knowing that even the true visible church is still a corpus permixtum until the final days !

    Dennis (reformatienl)

    • truthoughts said

      Oh my… Dennis,

      I am not sure where you are getting your information because I have not seen this information elsewhere. What I do know, is that all he states in this video is true and accurate according to the Word of God. The point of my posting this video was one of conviction in Truth. When it comes down to it… it has nothing to do with the messenger but the message. Remember when the disciples complained to Jesus about those who preached in Jesus’ name but were not followers? Jesus’ response to them was to let them alone. Either way, Jesus is being preached (as long as what is said is Truth as this video is). I was not, nor am I trying to gain followers to/for any person. My focus is to share the gospel Truth in this post with the hopes that others who read it will look within themselves and be convicted to line themselves up with the Truth of God’s Word. I appreciate your concerns and I hope that you understand my response. When it comes down to it in the end… Christ will divide His Church from those who are not His. Thank you for your comment and I pray that you will continue to study the Word to show yourself approved as the Word says to do so.

      Sincerely In Christ,
      Alison

Leave a comment