Truthoughts Today

Finding something in nothing…

Through the Eye of the Beholder

Posted by truthoughts on May 15, 2008

Looking into the eyes of someone else’s vision of the world causes a deep introspection and a trance of unparalleled focus. I am captivated more by black and white photographs because of the stillness of life that they portray. There is something to be said about the dream state that a b&w picture brings me to and the imagination it encourages. Here is an example: “Rose and Driftwood”

Photograph: By Ansel Adams 1932

 This photograph above, is one of my favorites of his. Quite a few years ago, a friend of mine found out that I loved black and white photographs, so he gave me a book, “Ansel Adams: Classic Images”. Sometimes I wish it wasn’t in a book so that I could put it in a frame. I know I could go out and purchase a copy, like a poster, but I haven’t. The following picture, is called “Trailer Camp Children”, it really moved me. It just makes you want to reach out and hold them.

Photograph: By Ansel Adams 1944

In a b&w photograph, expressions and emotions come through much deeper than in a color photo. Sometimes, I feel as though it is like capturing a ghost on film… you wouldn’t be aware you were capturing it until you developed it… and there it is.

Well, I tried to upload more pictures from my camera, but for some reason it is not allowing me to. Once I figure out what the problem is, I will upload them and post them. I would love for you to see some of the other pictures that I think are fascinating.

4 Responses to “Through the Eye of the Beholder”

  1. brad said

    Sorry to say it, but the ’44 pic of the kids is one i trot out in my photo classes to show that Ansel Adams, for all his prowess at shooting landscapes, couldn’t shoot people worth a plug nickel. Compared to Dorothea Lange, Walker Evans, or any of the other big WPA-era photographers, it’s just not that arresting. (imho.) The kids look distracted, the print isn’t very good (probably he knew it wasn’t a great shot) and the only one we connect to is the baby, who just sort of looks like a baby. It’s also taken from rather far away, making the dark obscurity of their surrounding all the more opaque and uninformative.

    Which is not to say it doesn’t move you, but that if you like this, you should really check out Lange and Evans, who really have this subject under control.

  2. truthoughts said

    Brad,

    Thank you for your comment. I hear what you are saying… I suppose that my interests lie deeper than the surface of the picture as far as technique, etc. My mind tends to wonder on what they saw in that moment and what they may have been thinking. I wonder what their lives were like and if they are still alive, what they have become. For some reason, looking into their eyes in this picture just captivates me in regards to what I have stated. I appreciate your suggestions and I will definietly check out Lange and Evans. Thank you again for your comment. Have an excellent day!

    Alison

  3. Brittany said

    i personally love the pictures. i take nothing but black and white pictures. i love the emotion it makes you feel.

Leave a comment