Truthoughts Today

Finding something in nothing…

  • Contact Me

  • Subscribe To My Blog – Click Below

  • Follow Me

  • Truthoughts Today's Facebook profile
  • May 2008
    S M T W T F S
        Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • RSS Christian Truthoughts Feed

    • I Will Rest In You
      It has been a long time since I was able to post here and recently was encouraged to start posting again.  I will start by posting a video for those who are battle weary from the spiritual onslaught going on during these last days.  Be encouraged, replenished, and comforted… you are not alone.
    • The Word as an Onion
        Too many merely accept the Word on the surface.  They pick and choose this verse or that and build their doctrine out of it.  One instance for example is that in regard to adultery.  God’s Word says that you should not commit adultery; wherefore, those who have not slept with someone outside of their […]
    • 40 Days of Challenge – Day 6 Positive Practices and the Danger Zone
      40 Days of Challenge Day 6 Positive Practices and the Danger Zone           Positive Practices   Philippians 2:14 (KJV) “Do all things without murmurings (grumbling) and disputings”   Have you ever found yourself making an effort to go out of your way for someone only to find that they respond without […]
    • 40 Days of Challenge – Day 5 Dare to be Different
      40 Days of Challenge Day 5 Dare to be Different   The Post-It Challenge Jeremiah 29:11 (KJV) “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil (calamity), to give you an expected end (a future and a hope).” Isaiah 55:11-12 (KJV) “So shall My […]
    • 40 Days of Challenge – Day 4 Self Control and Thoughtfulness
      40 Days of Challenge Day 4 Self Control and Thoughtfulness   Self Control James 1:19-20 (KJV)  “Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath: For the wrath of man worketh not (does not produce) the righteousness of God.” Many times in our human relationships, we find […]
  • Visitors From Around The World

  • RSS Top News Stories

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Memorial Day Memories

Posted by truthoughts on May 23, 2008

This weekend is a holiday weekend to honor those who have fought for our freedom. My grandfather is one of those men. My grandfather’s name was Clarence Adam Cordell. He died on Jan. 4, 1964 at the age of 47, barely. (Dec. 10, 1917 – Jan. 4, 1964) S/SGT USAF

My grandfather was in the airforce and was stationed all over the world. He died in San Diego, California. He is laid to rest at the Fort Rosecrans National Cemetary in Plot: X 862, which overlooks the ocean. His plot is at the top of a hill near a cliff.

My husband and I lived in San Diego for about 2 1/2 years and it was then that I was able to go and see where my grandfather was buried. His grave site is in a great place with an absolutly beautiful view. I imagined what his funeral must have been like. My grandfather died way before I was born, so I never got to know him.

From the stories that I have heard, my grandfather was stationed at Roswell before the UFO “incident” and was relocated shortly before it happened. Oh, the stories I might have heard, had he stayed there. Hmmm…

Below are some pictures of the cemetery which can be found on Wikipedia.
 

A tugboat tows the decommissioned aircraft carrier USS Midway towards San Diego Bay past Fort Rosecrans National Cemetery

A helicopter flies past the cemetery.

 I wish I could include actual pictures of where he lies, but we moved before being able to go back to take pictures, so this is the best I can find. These pictures do not do it justice though.

I have another grandfather who served in the airforce as well, but I don’t have any information on him other than his name, Joseph Medina. I never knew him either because he died before I was born as well.

Sadly, I have heard that my grandpa Cordell may not have been a Christian, so I may never get to meet him… My other grandpa, grandpa Joe was a Christian, so I look forward to the day that I get to meet him.

Well, I wish that I had more to say about them, but I really don’t know very much. My grandpa Joe apparently had a building named after him at a Southern California college because he became a professor. Little tid-bits don’t exactly make a whole picture, just a puzzle.

 

 

4 Responses to “Memorial Day Memories”

  1. That cemetery is a nice place. Really lovely, that view and how the graves are placed:-) we do not have such kind of organisation here. My grandparents are in a cemetery which looks more like a forest and it can be really scary at night.

  2. truthoughts said

    Susan,

    Thank you for your comment. This cemetery is at a military base, so they keep it up pretty well. We had a heck of a time trying to find it. It was a little intimidating driving around trying to find it because you have to go through a few check points and if you make a wrong turn, you could get a line of questioning.

    I have a family cemetery in Oklahoma that sounds like the one your grandparents are at. There is no one who keeps it up but the family, so it is kind of like… when you can get someone out there – you do, if not… it doesn’t happen. It is in a wooded area too.

    Once we found it though, we were very impressed. Most of the markers (head stones) just have plot numbers on them instead of names. There is a mosulium type building where you can get a map with marker locations on it. You first look up who you are going there for on a computer and it tells you what section to go to, to find which marker to look for.

    I really wish that we were able to take pictures of his actual marker, but maybe next time. Thank you again for your comment.

  3. Declinable said

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Declinable
    .

  4. truthoughts said

    Declinable,

    I was just reminiscing about my family and it was around Memorial Day. My grandparents were in the military, so it fit. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

 
