Truthoughts Today

Finding something in nothing…

  • Contact Me

  • Subscribe To My Blog – Click Below

  • Follow Me

  • Truthoughts Today's Facebook profile
  • May 2008
    S M T W T F S
        Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • RSS Christian Truthoughts Feed

    • I Will Rest In You
      It has been a long time since I was able to post here and recently was encouraged to start posting again.  I will start by posting a video for those who are battle weary from the spiritual onslaught going on during these last days.  Be encouraged, replenished, and comforted… you are not alone.
    • The Word as an Onion
        Too many merely accept the Word on the surface.  They pick and choose this verse or that and build their doctrine out of it.  One instance for example is that in regard to adultery.  God’s Word says that you should not commit adultery; wherefore, those who have not slept with someone outside of their […]
    • 40 Days of Challenge – Day 6 Positive Practices and the Danger Zone
      40 Days of Challenge Day 6 Positive Practices and the Danger Zone           Positive Practices   Philippians 2:14 (KJV) “Do all things without murmurings (grumbling) and disputings”   Have you ever found yourself making an effort to go out of your way for someone only to find that they respond without […]
    • 40 Days of Challenge – Day 5 Dare to be Different
      40 Days of Challenge Day 5 Dare to be Different   The Post-It Challenge Jeremiah 29:11 (KJV) “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil (calamity), to give you an expected end (a future and a hope).” Isaiah 55:11-12 (KJV) “So shall My […]
    • 40 Days of Challenge – Day 4 Self Control and Thoughtfulness
      40 Days of Challenge Day 4 Self Control and Thoughtfulness   Self Control James 1:19-20 (KJV)  “Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath: For the wrath of man worketh not (does not produce) the righteousness of God.” Many times in our human relationships, we find […]
  • Visitors From Around The World

  • RSS Top News Stories

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Man Eating Spider On The Run!

Posted by truthoughts on May 21, 2008

I write this in the midst of the passionate flurry of emotions from the events which unfolded just moments ago. My heart still races within my chest and my head is still high with adrenaline. I was sitting on the couch, minding my own business while trying to destress from the sibling rivalry between my cats earlier… when I happen to look up at the light colored wall before me, only to see – to my absolute horror, a huge wolf spider sprawled out in full fashion as if to taunt me the he indeed existed and was here to take over my domain.

With a screech I jumped up, out of my comfortable and once believing safe haven, to take a closer look. Frantically, I raced through many thoughts of action. First, I thought I could smash it with a fly swatter… that is until I got a good look at the fly swatter, only to eliminate it due to size combatibility, yes I meant “combat-ability”.

Next I thought of squashing it with a shoe… ah, yes – a shoe. So, I ran as fast as I could… making funny noises all the way so that my cats would follow in protection mode. Once I got to the shoes, I had to decide which shoe would work the best while protecting me at the same time from it running onto my hands and up my arms only to try and chew up my neck or face. (Yes, I know… a bit dramatic – but that is why you are still reading, lol)

So, sandals obviously will NOT work, and my shoes are too small for my state of mind. That only left my husband’s gigantic shoes (the’re huge compared to mine). I grabbed one of his tennis shoes and brought it to the scene, while examining its sole for comfort on the task ahead of me.

Once I got to the place of action, I realized that the enemy might be faster than me… Oh no! So, I ran to the kitchen to get the bug spray, panicking the entire time that the poison would hurt my cats. So, I tried my hardest to spray just the spider, as of course, it began to run toward me which made me scream even more.

My cats at this time were looking at me as though I had lost my mind. Ironically however, they didn’t even seem to notice the spider rushing closer to me. Once I had sprayed the spider adequately, and about a foot in every direction around it, I smashed it into bits with the shoe. Ah, relief!

Oh my, now I had to figure out how to clean up the poisonous spray, which was everywhere. I thought to myself, “I could use our Spotbot”. So, I ran and got the Spotbot but once I got back to the mess, I began to hear a sound that was not pleasant.

Apparently, in my frantic state, I had accidentally sprayed the extension cord which held cords to the television, cable box, VCR, DVD and stereo surround sound system. It was snap-crackle and popping, as well as making a sizzling sound. I tried to get to the plug in the wall, to unplug it, but there was a heavy corner table in the way. I didn’t want to touch the live wires, so I called my husband and he said he was on his way… he had left for the store earlier.

I ended up taking out a drawer to the corner table and reaching in to pull on another cord, which was wrapped around the one I wanted. This allowed me to reach the problem cord and yank it out from the wall. The sounds stopped.

Finally, my husband came home and helped me clean up the mess and dry out the cords. Boy, what a day. I haven’t even had my coffee to day. I think it’s time for a cat nap.

 

4 Responses to “Man Eating Spider On The Run!”

  1. Lucy said

    Yikes! Wolf spiders are scary looking things, and they come after you if you spray them with bug spray – I know cos I’ve been chased by them!

  2. truthoughts said

    Lucy,
    Thanks for your comment. I still have the heeby-geebies from it. I keep looking into the crevices of our furniture, etc. Yikes! I figure it probably came in as a baby, so hopefully there aren’t more. I have seen one lift up it’s front end to act like it was looking at me, I thought it would jump. I hope you haven’t been bit by any. Urggg…(shivering thought)

  3. caitlin said

    you guys are funny…My husband read this with me and was laughing becuz he can see me doing the same thing…. If i was you I would of gotten a frying pan, a towl and continuos flammable hair spray and a liter….I would of sprayed the hair spray at the same time light the liter creating a home made flame torch,,and burned that b–ch to the grown throw the towl over it as it fell and then went to town beating it to pieces with the frying pan!!! Take that you creepy thing this is my house!! HAHAHAHAAHAAAAHHHAAA!!!! 🙂 hehehe

  4. truthoughts said

    Caitlin ~ That is funny! I am glad that someone else can relate! We haven’t had anymore big spiders… Now we are having trouble with wasps getting in. Go figure! We had the builder of our home come out and (supposedly) caulk up the chimney b/c we thought they were coming in through there, but it hasn’t worked. Yikes! You are very funny!!! Hahahaha!!!
    ~ Alison

Leave a Reply

 
